Soramimi Hour (空耳アワー)

This is a rare non-upload post, which I decided to write to introduce you to a non-gaki, non-downtown j-comedy show I’ve found about about during my days in Tokyo and quickly grew on me: Soramimi Hour.

As you can see by its logo, the name is a word made of two kanjis: “sky” (空) and “ear” (耳). The world “Soramimi” can also literally translate to “empty ear”, but the idiomatic meaning of its expression is “to mishear“, or “to hear something wrongly”, and that’s exactly what this show is about. Do you remember back in the early youtube days all the “misheard lyrics” videos you could find online? That’s basically it!

Soramimi Hour is an old segment from the late-night variety show Tamori Club, which started in 1992 (I wasn’t even born yet!) and it’s still being aired once in a while, as special episodes. The show is hosted by Tamori-san, probably one of the biggest and most influential japanese showmen ever, together with his co-host Hajime Anzai and occasional (sometimes even international) guest stars.

On each episode, they watch, comment and reward short skits based off misheard foreign songs lyrics, which seem to say something completely different in japanese, to different degrees. I don’t think this show is well known outside from Japan, but I’ve found this subbed compilation of some of the most famous skits, without commentary.

I’ve decided to sub this clip myself too, featuring a “soramimi” of Don’t Piss Me Off by David Lee Roth. I’d love to sub more of those once in a while so ,if you’re interested, keep an eye on my YT channel (not going to post any of them here from now on). I’d love to do a compilation myself, there are tons of Soramimi clips I really like that I wish to share with those who’d like to see them. Maybe in the future, who knows! Regardless, if you’re interested in unsubbed Soramimi, than you’re in luck! All you have to do is search for it on youtube, it’s full of segments and complete episodes (for whatever reason the copyright banhammer hasn’t hit them yet).

Anyway, hope you’ll have a lovely day! Cya soon enough (I hope so).

Inviato su

Lascia un commento